club history

The Optimists Cricket Club is the largest cricket club in Luxembourg and benefits from having its own ground, Pierre Werner Cricket Ground based in Walferdange, Luxembourg.

The Optimists were formed in 1976 by the first English expats to Luxembourg who were helping to set up some of the various EU institutions in Luxembourg.

The Optimists enter two teams into the Belgian Cricket Federation. The 1st XI are in the BCF Division 2 and have been champions in 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018. Also in 2018, they won the BCF T20 Cup for the first time.

The 2nd XI have a strong history but was put on hold in 2011 and this year sees the return. They entered into the BCF Division 5 in 2018  and secured promotion at the first attempt.

The Optimists Cricket Club also supports a thriving Juniors section as well as hosting various touring adult sides who travel to Luxembourg for week-end friendly fixtures. We welcome teams from UK, Switzerland, Germany and have been hosted sides from Australia and the MCC.

For more information on the Optimists Cricket Club, please visit their website –

Optimists CC celebrating winning the Belgian League Division 2 in 2017 for the 3rd year!

Optimists CC celebrating winning the Belgian League Division 2 in 2017 for the 3rd year!

contact Details

Important Contacts at the Optimists Cricket Club are:

Chairman – William Heath

Vice-Chairman – Joost Mees

1st XI and Club Captain – Tony Whiteman

1st XI Vice Captain – Vikram Vijh

2nd XI Captain – Girish Venkatesh

Fixtures Secretary – Tim Andrews

Treasurer – Tony Whiteman

Club Secretary – Wayne Codd

Home ground

The Optimists ground is the beautiful Pierre Werner Oval in Walferdange. Many say that it is the best ground in the region in Europe and well worth a visit.

The Pierre Werner Oval, Walferdange

The Pierre Werner Oval, Walferdange